Journal Description

Indoor and Built Environment publishes reports on any topic pertaining to the quality of the indoor and built environment, and how these might effect the health, performance, efficiency and comfort of persons living or working there. Topics range from urban infrastructure, design of buildings, and materials used to laboratory studies including building airflow simulations and health effects. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Aims and Scope

Indoor and Built Environment is a peer reviewed journal that publishes original reports on any topics pertaining to the quality of the indoor and built environment, and how these might affect the safety, health, performance, efficiency and comfort of occupants living and working  in these environments.


The journal specialises in disseminating research developments leading to design guides for architects and building professionals, as well as national and international standards and guidelines on indoor environmental quality, green building assessment methods and energy efficient buildings. We also publish workshop discussion papers formulating requirements for policies and standards regarding development of  sustainable built environments.

Editorial Board


Prof. Chuck Yu

President and Executive Director, EnviroAct Consultants, ISBE Ltd., UK

Deputy Editors

Prof. Shijie Cao

Dr. Zhengdong Chen

School of Architecture, Southeast University, China

CSIRO, Land and Water Foundation, Australia

Assistant Editors

Prof. Chan Lu 

Dr. Zhuangbo Feng

XiangYa School of Public Health, Central South University, Changsha, Hunan, China

School of Architecture, Southeast University, China

Operational Editor

Prof. Xilian Luo 

Dr. Chunwen Xu 

School of Human Settlements and Civil Engineering, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

China University of Petroleum, China

Regional Editors

Prof. Charlene Bayer

Dr. Camila Brunsgaard          

Prof Christopher Chao          

Prof. Che-Ming Chiang          

Prof. Zhaolin Gu                  

Prof Kazuhide Ito                 

Prof. Phil Jones                

Dr Stylianos Kephalopoulos

Dr. Berangere Lartigue         

Dr. Josephine Lau                

Prof Xianting Li                 

Prof. Vivian Loftness          

Prof Lidia Morawska          

Prof. Chandra Sekhar         

Prof. Joost van Hoof          

Dr. Pawel Wargocki      

Georgia Institute of Technology and US GBC, USA

Aalborg University, Denmark

Hong Kong University, Hong Kong

National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

Kyushu University, Japan

Cardiff University, UK

European Commission, Joint Research Centre (ISPRA), Italy 

Paul Sabatier University, France

University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

Tsinghua University, China

Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Queensland University of Technology, Australia

National University of Singapore, Singapore

Hague University, Netherlands

Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Editorial Board

Prof Dariush Azimi          

Prof. Li Bai                          

Dr. Stephen Brown         

Prof. Albert Chan                 

Prof. Wan-Ki Chow         

Prof. Runa T. Hellwig          

Jian Kang                         

Prof. Risto Kosonen          

Prof. Alvin Lai                  

Dr Young Lee                  

Prof Jiawei Leng                

Dr. Mei-Yung Leung         

Prof. Angui Li                        

Dr Danny Li                         

Dr. Xiaoyu Liu                 

Prof. Ahmed Megri          

Prof. Catherine Noakes         

Prof. Thomas Olofsson          

Prof. Shin-ichi Tanabe         

Prof. Xuan Tang                 

Dr. Marcella Ucci                 

Jim Uttley                        

Dr. Fan Wang                          

Prof. Hanqing Wang         

Prof Fang Wang                 

Prof Jianguo Wang          

Prof Yupeng Wang        

Dr. Xin Wang                          

Prof Yi Wang                         

Dr. Doyun Won                 

Dr Ling Tim Wong                  

Prof. Wei Xu                        

Prof Bin Yang                        

Prof. John Zhai                 

Prof. Lizhi Zhang                

Ashford University, USA

School of Municipal and Environmental Engineering, Jilin Jianzhu University, China

CSIRO, Australia

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Department of Building Services Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Aalborg University, Denmark

UCL Institute for Environmental Design & Engineering, University College London, UK

Aalto University, Finland

City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Michigan State University, USA

Southeast University, China

City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Xi'an University of Architecture & Technology, China

City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong


North Carolina A&T State University, USA

University of Leeds, UK

Department of Applied Physics and Electronics, Umeå University, Sweden

Waseda University, Japan

Sustainable Development - Social and Economic development, Guangzhou Univeristy, China

University College London, UK

Sheffield University, UK

School of the Energy, Geosciences, Infrastructure and Society, Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh, UK

University of South China, China

Peking University, China

Southeast University, China

Xi’an Jiaotong University, China

Tsinghua University, China

Xi’an University of Architecture and Technology, China

National Research Council, Canada

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

China Academy of Building Research, China

Umeå University, Sweden

University of Colorado at Boulder, USA

South China University of Technology, China

Editorial Board is also shown in: https://journals.sagepub.com/editorial-board/IBE